Vice Mayor Andra Higginbotham called a regular monthly meeting of the Amherst Town Council to order on August 14, 2024, at 7:00 P.M. in the Council Chambers of the Town Hall at 174 S. Main Street.

It was noted that a quorum was present as follows:

A	D. Dwayne Tuggle	P	Andra Higginbotham
P	Janice N. Wheaton	P	Michael Driskill
P	Sharon W. Turner	P	Kenneth S. Watts

Also present were the following staff members:

Sara E. McGuffin	Town Manager	Ryan Watts	Police Chief
Kelley Kemp	Town Attorney	Gary Williams	Director of Plants
Tracie Morgan	Dep. Town Manager/Treas.	Becky Cash	Water/Wastewater Operator
Vicki K. Hunt	Clerk of Council		

Recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag was followed by an invocation by Sharon Turner.

Police Chief Watts announced promotions within the department, congratulating Dante Robinson promoted to Captain and William Hash promoted to Investigator.

Vice Mayor Higginbotham opened the floor to citizen comments.

Harold Thomas, Town of Amherst resident, came forward to extend his appreciation for the pole flag program honoring military heroes.

There being no one else listed to speak on the citizen comment sign-in sheet, or otherwise, no other comments were made.

Ms. Turner made a motion that was seconded by Mr. Driskill to approve the minutes of the meeting held on July 10, 2024, as presented.

There being no discussion, the motion carried 5-0 via the roll call method as follows:

D. Dwayne Tuggle		Andra Higginbotham	Aye
Janice N. Wheaton	Aye	Michael Driskill	Aye
Sharon Turner	Aye	Kenneth Watts	Aye

Mr. Watts made a motion that was seconded by Ms. Wheaton to approve the July 2024 check registry as presented with the exception of Item #6217 Hill Hardware.

There being no discussion, the motion carried 5-0 via the roll call method as follows:

D. Dwayne Tuggle		Andra Higginbotham	Aye
Janice N. Wheaton	Aye	Michael Driskill	Aye
Sharon Turner	Aye	Kenneth Watts	Aye

Ms. Wheaton made a motion that was seconded by Mr. Watts to approve Item #6217 Hill Hardware on the July 2024 check registry, as presented.

There being no discussion, the motion carried 4-0-1 via the roll call method, as follows:

D. Dwayne Tuggle		Andra Higginbotham	Aye
Janice N. Wheaton	Aye	Michael Driskill	Aye
Sharon Turner	Abstain	Kenneth Watts	Aye

Town Manager McGuffin and Town Attorney Kemp gave reports on the speed limit on Macadam Road. The Code of Virginia authorizes the governing body of the town to increase or decrease the speed limit within its boundaries, provided such increase or decrease in speed shall be based upon an engineering and traffic investigation by the town and provided such speed area or zone is clearly indicated by markers or signs; and to authorize the town manager to reduce the speed limit on any portion of any highway of the city or town on which work is being done or where the highway is under construction or repair for a temporary period not to exceed 60 days, without such engineering and traffic investigation.

By consensus, Council directed Town Manager McGuffin to begin the process to reduce the speed limit on Macadam Road for a temporary period not to exceed 60 days.

Ms. Turner made a motion that was seconded by Ms. Wheaton to authorize staff to begin an engineering and traffic investigation to permanently decrease the speed limit on Macadam Road in the Town of Amherst.

After discussion, the motion carried 5-0 via the roll call method, as follows:

D. Dwayne Tuggle		Andra Higginbotham	Aye
Janice N. Wheaton	Aye	Michael Driskill	Aye
Sharon Turner	Aye	Kenneth Watts	Aye

Town Manager McGuffin gave a report on design proposals and concept plans to improve sidewalk and streetscape in the following Downtown areas:

- 1. Main Street from Second Street to Court Street- Review three options to improve the sidewalk area on the west side of the street, including looking at options to convert some parking spaces to sidewalk.
- 2. Landscaped Median Options along Main Street

After discussion, the matter was deferred to the September 11, 2024, meeting.

Town Manager McGuffin gave a report on an existing vacancy on the Economic Development Authority. The matter was deferred.

Vice Mayor Higginbotham opened the floor to citizen comments.

Sonny Sundaramurthy, Town of Amherst resident, came forward to speak on town restrictions and tolerance and acceptance.

There being no one listed to speak on the citizen comment sign-in sheet, or otherwise, no comments were made.

There being no further business, on motion of Ms. Turner and seconded by Ms. Wheaton, at 8:01 PM the meeting adjourned until September 11, 2024, at 7:00 p.m.

The motion carried 5-0 as follows:

D. Dwayne Tuggle		Andra Higginbotham	Aye
Janice N. Wheaton	Aye	Michael Driskill	Aye
Sharon Turner	Aye	Kenneth S. Watts	Aye

	Andre Higginbotham, Vice Mayor
ATTEST:	
	Clerk of Council