## TOWN OF AMHERST PLANNING COMMISSION Wednesday, July 3, 2024 AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order Chair Driskill
- 2. Determination of Quorum
- 3. Citizen Comment- This time is provided for citizens to bring concerns or comments to the Commission that are not scheduled for a public hearing. This is not meant to be a discussion or an exchange, but rather, an opportunity for citizens to have their concerns be heard.
- 4. **Approval of June 10<sup>th</sup>, 2024 meeting minutes** Chair- The minutes of the June 10, 2024 meeting are attached.
- 5. **Site Plan: Centra PACE Facility-** Centra has submitted a minor site plan for their facility located at 124 Ambriar Court. This building was previously a doctor's office, and will be renovated and the parking lot reconfigured for its new use. Staff requests approval of the plan, subject to the addition of standard utility details on the plan.
- 6. **Discussion: Seven Oaks Summit-** Staff has received plans for a Planned Unit Development (PUD) request for the property that surrounds Dulwich Manor. This request allows the applicant to design their own zoning district and staff anticipates receiving the completed application and fee shortly. This proposal will allow a mixed unit development with q combination of townhouses, patio homes and single family homes. The applicant intends to attend the meeting to introduce the development.
- 7. Concerns of Commissioners
- 8. Adjournment

## Town of Amherst Planning Commission Minutes June 10, 2024

A meeting of the Town of Amherst Planning Commission was called to order by Chairperson June Driskill on June 10, 2024, at 7:00 P.M. in the Council Chambers of Town Hall at 174 S. Main Street.

It was noted that a quorum was present as indicated below:

P	June Driskill	P	Michael Driskill
P	William Jones	P	John Vandervelde
P	Anne Webster Day	P	Veda Butcher
P	Clifford Hart		

Town Manager Sara McGuffin, and Clerk of Council Vicki K. Hunt in her capacity as Secretary, were also present.

The Chair opened the floor for citizen comments.

There being no one listed to speak on the citizen comment sign-in sheet, or otherwise, no comments were made.

Mr. Driskill made a motion that was seconded by Mr. Hart to approve the minutes of the May 1, 2024, meeting.

There being no discussion the motion carried 7-0 according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Michael Driskill	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Aye	Veda Butcher	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye		

The Chair opened a duly advertised public hearing at 7:01 PM on Chapter 24 - Zoning and Subdivision, Article IV, Section 235 Table of Uses, that would, if approved, broaden the range of uses allowed in the retail and personal service category in the T-1, CBD, B-1, and B-2 districts.

Town Manager McGuffin gave a short report on the proposed amendment that would replace existing language with language that would broaden the scope of services allowed in the T-1, CBD, B-1, and B-2 districts.

Town Manager McGuffin read comments received from Sonny Sundaramurthy in opposition to the amendment.

L.C. Freeman came forward in favor of the amendment which would allow a business license to

run a tattoo parlor.

There being no one else present or otherwise who wished to speak on the matter, the public hearing was closed at 7:05 p.m.

After discussion, Mr. Driskill made a motion that was seconded by Ms. Day to recommend that Town Council approve the proposed amendment to Chapter 24-Zoning and Subdivision, Article IV, Section 235 Table of Uses, broadening the range of uses allowed in the retail and personal service category in the T-1, CBD, B-1, and B-2 districts, as recommended by staff.

There being no further discussion, the motion carried 7-0 according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Michael Driskill	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Aye	Veda Butcher	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye		

There being no further business, on motion of Mr. Driskill, seconded by Mr. Hart, and carried 7-0, the meeting adjourned at 7:19 PM, according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day Aye
Michael Driskill	Aye	John Vandervelde Aye
William Jones	Aye	Veda Butcher Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye	

		June Driskill, Chairperson	
Attest:			